Skip to content
June 5, 2011 / Natalie G.

Larchmont Farmer’s Market

We have lived in the Larchmont neighborhood of Los Angeles for almost a year and one of the major perks is having a weekly farmer’s market that we can walk to.  The produce is amazing, there are always gorgeous flowers and it is worth wandering down just for the people watching. Growing up in Portland I’m used to the fantastic farmer’s market in the Portland State park blocks on Saturday mornings but I must say, Los Angeles has a pretty extensive farmer’s market network. A full list of markets can be found here.

Another excellent thing about living in LA is that there is an excellent selection of produce all year round. In the winter we still have green leafy veggies and apples and aren’t just stuck with root vegetables. Berries appear in mid April and last easily through the summer. And they’re cheap – I got three pints of strawberries for five dollars today – and they are insanely good and locally grown. Bonus.

One of our favorite finds at the market is the incredible bread at La Boulangerie. The sourdough is divine but unless you’re there by about 11:15 good luck getting any. We arrived around 11:00 and snatched up one of the last three loaves – thank goodness.  They also sell incredibly delicious baguettes, multi-grain loaves and plenty of traditional french pastries. Plus, the owner Thierry always addresses ladies as Mademoiselle, which I adore. After some googling it appears that Larchmont is not the only lucky market where La Boulangerie makes an appearance – full schedule here. Trust me folks – it is worth visiting, the baguettes are as close to fresh as you can get and taste just like the ones you can get in a bakery in Paris.

The flowers at the Larchmont market were gorgeous this weekend.  There are two cut-flower vendors (and one guy who sells orchids) with regular booths. I tend to alternate between the two and this week one had a selection that far outdid the other. The flowers were absolutely gorgeous – I had such a hard time deciding but ended up with some beautiful and fragrant purple flowers that I can’t identify. I love having fresh flowers in the house and hopefully these will live until next week.

Another thing that you definitely shouldn’t miss are the farm fresh eggs. Until I had farm fresh eggs I had no idea what I was missing but the difference is pretty obvious. Once you go farm fresh you never go back – willingly at least. I picked up a dozen eggs from the Healthy Family Farms booth and I can’t wait to make something delicious. A Quiche perhaps? Or fresh pasta? Decisions, decisions.

I am currently waiting for my Strawberry Sour Cream Ice Cream mixture to chill before I put it in the ice cream maker later this afternoon – the strawberries we bought at the market are some of the best I’ve ever had. I’ll post photos and a recipe for the ice cream soon. Once I finish eating more than my fair share that is.

Visit the Larchmont Farmer’s Market just below Beverly on Larchmont Blvd. Sundays from 10AM – 2PM.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Audrey / Jun 6 2011 6:55 pm

    My favorite thing about this entire post is Brad at the boulangerie with a canvas bag. But also, I felt like I was there, so that was good! Keep it up, sista!

  2. Denise / Jun 7 2011 6:57 pm

    Beautiful fruit and vegi photos. Would look terrific framed and hung
    in my kitchen! : )

Trackbacks

  1. Strawberry-Sour Cream Ice Cream (Heaven) « incandescent

Leave a Reply

