Skip to content
June 8, 2011 / Natalie G.

Strawberry-Sour Cream Ice Cream (Heaven)

In my previous post I mentioned the incredibly delicious, incredibly cheap strawberries I found at the Larchmont Farmer’s Market on Sunday and how patiently I was waiting for the ice cream mixture to chill before I put it in my ice cream maker. Well, let’s just say if all patience was rewarded with this ice cream I’d be a much more patient person. Holy cow. David Lebovitz – I think you may be a genius. (Not that I was unsure of this before but now I’m pretty much convinced.)

My mom got me an ice cream maker as an apartment warming gift when she came out to visit last year. We had an ice cream maker when I was growing up but it never really produced anything to write home about. We’d drag it out each summer hoping to produce amazing treats and then realize what a pain it was to churn the ice cream by hand, quickly lose interest and my lovely mother would finish it herself. My current ice cream maker (a self churning model) has changed my life which might sound like an exaggeration but once you’ve had homemade ice cream all other ice creams simply can’t compare. So, if you are an ice cream lover who is interested in making your own ice cream I highly suggest you go out and get yourself one of these and a copy of this.

And now, on to the ice cream. Many of the recipes in Lebovitz’s book are “French Style” ice creams made with a custard base that relies largely on egg yolks and cooking custard precisely and correctly. This takes a bit of practice and I’m finally learning when it’s ready just based on sight. This recipe however has no such complicated custard making involved – just six ingredients blended together to create perfection. I believe in using whole, natural ingredients as much as possible. I try not to buy products with ingredients I can’t identify and I avoid high fructose corn syrup all together. If something made with six simple ingredients tastes this delicious, why would I ever want something from a test tube in my ice cream? But I suppose that is a topic for a whole different post.

I will be snacking on this for a long while seeing as it made more than I expected – probably close to a quart and a half. Delicious.

Strawberry-Sour Cream Ice Cream
From David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop

1 pound (450 g) fresh strawberries, rinsed, hulled and sliced
3/4 cup (150 g) sugar
1 tablespoon vodka
1 cup (240 g) sour cream
1 cup (250 ml) heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

Toss the strawberries in a bowl with the sugar and the vodka and stir until the sugar begins to dissolve. Cover with plastic wrap and let stand at room temperature for one hour, stirring occasionally.

Pulse the strawberries and their liquid with the sour cream, heavy cream and lemon juice in a blender until almost smooth but still slightly chunky. Refrigerate for one hour, then freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. That’s it. Really. So very simple. Now, go buy yourself an ice cream maker.

UPDATE: If you don’t have an ice cream maker, David Lebovitz provides instructions for making ice cream without one here. No excuses now!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Emmy / Jun 10 2011 7:06 am

    I wish I were eating homemade strawberry ice cream from an anthropologie latte bowl with you. Beautiful all around!

    So far away…

Leave a Reply

