Skip to content
January 19, 2012 / Natalie G.

Inspiration: Envelope Drawings by Mark Powell

While catching up on a few of the blogs I read during my “lunch break” at work I came across the incredible artwork of Mark Powell. Powell’s most recent portrait series are created on vintage envelopes from around the world with only a Bic Biro ballpoint pen. The detail is astounding and to think that he created them with something as simple and cheap as a Bic pen is pretty remarkable.

The piece above he calls Quick Scribble – if my quick scribbles looked like this I’d quit my day job.

If I had to choose a favorite, it would be this last one.  I love the way he incorporated the stamps into the image. I like this piece so much, I think I’m going to buy a print of it for my wall.  To see more of his work check out his flickr page, and if you’d like to purchase a print of his art you can do so here.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. chellykins / Jan 20 2012 12:29 am

    Really nice!

  2. Kate / Jan 31 2012 3:32 pm

    I love these. They make me want to scribble on everything!

Leave a Reply

